I want to Drink the Holy Water

BabyWrites
2 min readApr 15, 2022

A passing thought my husband will never read

Credit: Maria Eduarda Loura Magalhães from Pexels

Pillows deep, covers warm

All the things I couldn’t say to you

That floorboard still squeaks, but

Of course I’ll schedule the person soon.

Hope springs from the floorboards, and

Tendrils corkscrew up my legs

To my heart, blooming with opportunity,

Then to my brain

Where the thorns dig in

Nailing me to the present, the future, my past.

And now I am left here

Not with you,

but everything you left behind.

Credit: Freestock from Pexels

This poem could be about being paralyzed from action, or so said a family member of mine who struggles with her beautiful, broken brain & depression

A friend told me it was about shame and imposters syndrome and not being able to break free from who we are, or who we want to become

Or maybe it’s about a significant other and how they don’t know you at all… Something prayer and time can never heal.

--

--

BabyWrites

Novelist (MG, picture book, & YA) and stay-at-home stepmom | Here I write about science, history, mental illness, & anything that I can’t get out of my brain :)